Paper Mache Pumpkins

IMG_5596

We happened to have three balloons left over from a Birthday party and as I didn’t want to see them go to waste
I decided to turn them into paper mache pumpkins as Halloween was just around the corner.

I started off with 1/2 cup of all purpose flour to 1 cup of water and mixed it all together as well as possible to remove all the lumps to make a nice paste, I like to add more flour and water as I go along if necessary. In the meantime my son ripped up strips of newspaper approx 1″ wide in various lengths. Then we started applying the the paste covered strips to the balloons. After the first layer had dried we added one more layer, I did use a hair dryer to speed up the drying process. Once the final layer was dry we painted them using my son’s paint palette. When the paint was dry we drew some faces using a sharpie which we then filled in with black paint.

Another option would be to cut out facial features using a sharp craft tool but I think one should paint the inside of the pumpkin a light colour after removing the balloon as the newspaper print might be distracting.

This entry was published on October 16, 2014 at 1:15 pm. It’s filed under craft tutorial, Halloween and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

