Heart Shaped Biscuit Recipe for Valentine’s Day

So my son asked me to bake some heart shaped cookies to bring into class for Valentine’s day.
I tend to alternate between Nigella Lawson’s cookie recipe and Donna Hay’s one.
Nigella’s are very tasty just a little on the puffy side {so should think of adjusting the baking powder more when I next make those}. Donna’s remind me more of a biscuit, in Ireland we use the term cookies to describe something made with chocolate chips.

Ingredients:

  • 250g of butter, softened
  • 3/4 cups (165g) sugar {the recipe calls for caster/superfine sugar which our local shops don’t carry, now because I’m icing these cookies later I’ll use less sugar}
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract {I generally use 1}
  • 1 egg {the recipe says 1 yolk but I usually don’t separate them}
  • 2 1/4 cups (335g) plain flour {all purpose unbleached}
  • I add a generous pinch of baking powder to flour before sifting

Icing:

  • I cup (160g) icing sugar {confectioner’s}
  • 1 tablespoon approximately of hot water
  • food colouring if required

Method:

Pop butter and sugar into my kitchen aid and beat until creamy. Add the the vanilla and egg to mix with some flour and beat well to combine. Add the remaining flour and beat until a smooth dough is formed which doesn’t take long. Then divide the dough into 4 equal portions and wrap in cling film or I use used butter wrappers between the layers and chill for at least 1 hour in the fridge. Sometimes I make double and freeze 1/2 of that to make biscuits in the future as it doesn’t take long to defrost.
Roll out the dough on a sheet of lightly floured greaseproof paper till around 5mm high. I used assorted sized cutters for my hearts. Before I have finished rolling I’ll turn on the oven to preheat at 180 C or 350 F.
I use the speed bake setting on my oven for cakes as it gives the product a more golden appearance otherwise they will never loose that pasty look. Depending on the thickness of the biscuits they take approx between 8-10 mins to bake.

IMG_5192
Cool on wire racks. Allow a day before icing I find is best and then allow almost another day before transporting to event as otherwise the icing gets damaged or sticks to the bags that I made. Have learnt this the hard way.
Make up the glace icing and add a tiny drop of chosen colouring if using to mixture and spread on top of biscuits, I find using a palette knife dipped in hot water helps spread the icing to almost the edges but not quite.

IMG_5467

Decorative bags for biscuits:

I cut out 30 rectangles of Reynolds non-stick parchment paper approx 5″x14″. Then I folded them in 1/2 and sewed a straight stitch along the longest sides on my Brother sewing machine. I left the top open to insert the biscuit. I then made mini gift cards by folding paint chips in half, I punched out a heart as a decorative touch on each one. Jack signed the cards and we attached them to the bags using a stapler. Jack said his class mates said “aaah” when they received the biscuits today.

IMG_5464                   IMG_5466

This entry was published on February 14, 2015 at 5:21 am. It’s filed under Baking, Kids, Valentines Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

