St Patricks’s Day Paper Crafts

Here in New York there is still snow of the ground and not that much evidence of Spring around, so it is nice being able to add various shades of green indoors in the form of paper garlands and of course celebrate St Patrick’s Day at the same time.

IMG_5579                   IMG_5578

Materials needed:

  1. A mixture of green papers used envelopes, paint chips, Kerrygold butter wrappers, printed media, construction papers
  2. Cards and envelopes {had a pack handy but they are also easy to make}
  3. Green and White Bakers Twine or any suitable width string will do
  4. Glue

Note: Bought the ready made blank cards and bakers twine at our local Michaels.

Kerrygold Butter is Irish made, I grew up eating the salted version in Dublin, Ireland and fortunately for me I can buy it here in the USA as it is the only butter I use on bread, scones and potatoes. I use unsalted Land of lakes butter when baking.

Instructions:

Used a craft punch for the numerous hearts {they could also be cut out by hand}. We used three hearts per card to create the shamrock shape, adding a strip of green for the stem. When we were happy with the composition we stuck them down.

For the garlands drew a shamrock which I cut out and used as a template for the rest of my shamrocks. I find these are perfect projects to do while watching television at night especially now that “House of Cards” is back on Netflix. So after I had finished tracing and cutting all the shamrocks I would need. I punched some small holes through some of them and hung them up using bakers string.
The other shamrocks I attached together using a straight stitch on my sewing machine.

IMG_5789                  IMG_5571

The green bunting I made a few years ago for a T-Rex Birthday Party, thought they looked like the fins on the dinosaur’s back and I was able to re-use them again. I had cut out large triangles from construction card in a few different shades of green and I used a larger hole punch to add holes; one on either side of the widest part of the triangle and then hung them up using green garden string.

IMG_5788

This entry was published on March 3, 2015 at 3:56 pm. It’s filed under craft tutorial, Decorating, Green, Kids, Shamrocks, Spring, St Patrick's Day and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

