Make your own seasonal envelopes

At last it looks like snow has finally melted here in NY and bulbs are emerging, so Spring really does feel like it’s around the corner. I was all ready to mail some Shamrock Garlands that I had made the other day when I thought what they needed was a green envelope which I didn’t have, so I decided to make my own from old magazines I had lying around. Where possible it is best to select a page which has more photographs than writing on it as you don’t want to confuse the Post Office with too much type.

IMG_5922         IMG_5921

Materials needed:

Optional: Cutting board, bone folder and scalpel or craft knife

IMG_5864

Selected pages from both my Country Living and Country Homes and Interiors magazines {which happen to be amongst my favourites to read and I  buy them whenever I can as they are very inspiring and have beautiful photography} and drew an outline of my envelope using an recycled envelope as my template. Cut it out and folded to make envelope shape, if you keep the old envelope on top as a guide it makes folding easier. A bone folder comes in handy for creating nice creases or a knife would also do. When you are satisfied with the shape, it is time to glue or add sellotape strips to stick down. Generally it is advisable to add an address label on the front for mailing purposes.

IMG_5905

This entry was published on March 12, 2015 at 2:34 pm. It’s filed under craft tutorial, makeyourownstationery, recycle, Spring and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

