St Patrick’s Day Cookies

This recipe is based on Nigella Lawson’s “Butter Cut-Out Cookies” from “How To Be a Domestic Goddess”. I liked her suggestion of baking number cookies for your children’s birthdays and I’ve been doing that for friends and my son ever since I read that. I also use this recipe to make Star Cookies for the 4th of July and Christmas. I have made a few changes, I don’t use as much butter or sugar and as I found they rose up a little too much and lost some of their cutter shape  I use half the amount of baking powder. I think what makes these biscuits so tasty is the Salt I remember being apprehensive when first trying this recipe about using 1 teaspoon but it does make a difference.
I have given the exact recipe here though as I think it is better to make those adjustments based on making it at least once and ones own personal taste and preferences.

Ingredients:

6 oz  (3/4 cup) of  soft unsalted butter such as Kerrygold unsalted Irish Butter

6 oz  (3/4 cup)  of sugar

2 large eggs

1 teaspoon of vanilla extract

10 oz  (2 2/3 cups) of cake flour, plus more if needed {I find it is fine to use plain/all purpose flour}

1 teaspoon of baking powder {I use 1/2 teaspoon}

1 teaspoon of salt

Shamrock Cookie Cutter from Sur La Table,  they carry a great selection of cutters which are also made in the USA

Baking sheets or large tin greased or lined with parchment paper or greaseproof paper

For icing:

2 cups of powdered/icing sugar

Green Food Colour by McCormick

Water

Method:

Cream the butter and sugar together until they are pale and soft, then beat in the eggs and vanilla, I add a tablespoon of flour along with each egg. In another bowl sieve the flour, baking powder and salt together. Add the dry ingredients to the butter and eggs mixture, mixing gently but thoroughly. Add extra flour if needed but not too much as this will make your dough tough.
Then halve the dough into two rounds and wrap each half in plastic wrap/cling film and chill in fridge for at least one hour. This dough can also be frozen so sometimes I make double and freeze half. Sprinkle your counter surface with flour or if you prefer roll out dough on a sheet of baking paper also lightly dusted with flour to a height just a little higher than 1/8 inch. Before rolling out dough I preheat the oven to 350 F.
Dip the cutter into flour to cut out shamrocks and place them a little apart on baking sheet as they will spread out a bit.

IMG_5972

Bake for 8-12 minutes until they are lightly golden around the edges, as I said in an earlier recipe I find using the Speed Bake setting on my oven achieves a nice golden colour for cakes and cookies. I bake one tray of cookies at a time this recipe yields enough for two sheets approx 15 x 20 inches.

IMG_5965
Leave the cookies on the baking sheet for a short time and then transfer to a wire rack to cool down. If icing the cookies I find it is best to make them in advance
so bake on Friday, ice on Saturday and serve on Sunday if you can. When the icing has had a day to dry out or even overnight it has time to set and makes them easier to transport if bringing to a party or to a St Patrick’s Day event at school.

IMG_5988IMG_5994_2

Glace Icing:
Start with two cups of icing sugar and gradually add the tablespoons of just-not-boiling water and mix together. It is best to take time over this as you don’t want to run out of sugar {which has happened to me in the past}. When you have made a thick paste add green food colouring until you achieve the shade you are happy with.
I find a palette knife is handy for spreading the icing on the cookies.

This entry was published on March 16, 2015 at 1:25 pm. It’s filed under Baking, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

