Happy National Pencil Day

So March 30th is National Pencil Day here in the USA, will admit I didn’t know such a day existed but am glad it does as it gives me a chance to say I love pencils.

Perhaps I can my blame my regard for the pencil on my primary school teacher in Dublin, Miss Foley who had us write an essay “My life as a pencil”, she wanted us to describe our beginnings in a forest, then the pencil factory until our end! Think a lot of my classmates perhaps myself included chose the less glorious end-that you were so worn down you were thrown away by the student into the waste paper basket! Think if I had that essay again I would choose to belong to a more distinguished writer,artist or designer and so I’d end my life perhaps lying in a museum case or something more interesting.

When I was an art student at NCAD in Dublin, we had to purchase a large green tin of Faber-Castell Polychromos Colouring Pencils {pictured above}. I remember having to buy additional  ones as their shades were so rich and great for colouring with. I think it is very hard for artists and designers to refrain from buying nice supplies or even materials you don’t always need when entering a decent Art and Supply Shop. My other favourite pencil for sketching and doodling with was a Green and Gold 2B also by Faber-Castell. Nowadays I’m not such a pencil snob and will use whatever one I have handy.

So what are your favourite pencils, I would love to hear.

This entry was published on March 30, 2015 at 4:47 am. It’s filed under National Pencil Day and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Happy National Pencil Day

  1. Happy National Pencil Day, Anne! Wish I had known about this special day during my years as a primary teacher! Pencils (and pencil sharpeners!) are very popular in a primary classroom. My new favorite pencils are Derwent Watercolor Pencils. I am just learning to watercolor… and just love them! ♡

    Like

    • Good luck with the watercolour painting, a few of my friends from art college days have started taking classes and are really enjoying it. Tis a wonder they don’t include sharpeners in National Pencil Day, shame on me I had forgotten about them! My Tipperary cousin was surprised to hear that they have a day celebrating pencils. Happy Easter.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

