Chocolate Chip Cookies make great Ice Cream Sandwiches

Firstly apologies for not posting anything lately as I was busy finishing up my designs for Surtex, The Stationery Show in New York City that was held earlier in May, plus hosting a Birthday Party for our seven year old which I will post about later. So now I’m busy doing catch up in the garden, sewing projects and also thinking of my next design ranges.

I found this recipe on bbcgoodfood.com. My son loves these cookies and I have to make them at least once a week. What I like about them is they don’t get hard and retain a nice chewy consistency.

Ingredients

150g (60z) 10 tablespoons of unsalted butter at room temperature

75g (30z) 1/3 cup of light brown sugar

75g (30z) 1/3 cup of white sugar

1 or 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract

1 large egg

225g (80z) 1 2/4  cups of plain/all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda/baking powder

200g (70z) 1 1/4 cups of chopped up chocolate or chocolate chips I like to use a combination of different chocolates such as Ghirardelli’s 60% bittersweet, semi-sweet and milk chocolate baking chips

2 baking sheets, greased or lined with parchment or wax paper

IMG_6809_2    IMG_7220

Method

Cream together sugar and butter either using a hand beater or KitchenAid until a smooth consistency is achieved. In another bowl sieve flour and bicarbonate of soda together. Add beaten egg and vanilla essence along with a large tablespoon or two of flour to the butter and sugar mixture, then add remainder of flour. Fold in chopped up chocolate or chips and stir until well combined. Pre heat oven to 375F Gas mark 5 or 190C. Line two baking sheets with parchment or grease-proof paper. Use an ice cream scoop or teaspoon to add heaped mixture to baking sheet leaving a space between the cookies. I flatten the mounds down a tiny bit. This quantity yields approximately two dozen cookies or so depending on the size you make them.

In our oven on the speed bake setting they take between 8-10 minutes so it is important to check them as ovens vary. When they are lightly golden around the edges they are done and so allow to cool down on sheet before transferring to a wire rack.

IMG_7221    IMG_7229

I do tweek the ingredients a little by using slightly less sugar and sometimes less chocolate chips depending on their size which doesn’t effect the taste at all. I happened to have some white baking chocolate on hand recently which I did add along with the dark chocolate to the mixture just for a change, however between the jigs’n’the’reels I won’t bother doing that again as it just made them sweeter.

IMG_6828_2

We store the cookies in a biscuit tin. My son loves dipping them into a glass milk or we make ice cream sandwiches. If I know I’m going to use them with ice cream I will flatten the mixture a little more than usual before baking to create a better shape with which to make a sandwich.

This entry was published on May 27, 2015 at 5:23 pm. It’s filed under chocolate chip cookies and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies make great Ice Cream Sandwiches

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog Anne. I am not known for baking but having discovered your recipe I have to try my hand at these biscuits, I love the idea of the ice cream sandwich!

    Like

Leave a Reply

