Fall Inspired Decor

Leaves by Elsie N. Brady

How silently they tumble down

And come to rest upon the ground

To lay a carpet, rich and rare,

Beneath the trees without a care,

Content to sleep, their work well done,

Colours gleaming in the sun………..

Autumn/Fall is probably my favourite season the trees have changed from green to such stunning colours and it is hard to go for a walk without bending down to pick up the many fallen leaves and being amazed by their unique shape and colour palette all on display in one specimen alone. Then there are the fallen pinecones that one finds in the parks and even on the streets, I had a large vase full of them from last year which I decided to use for a seasonal wreath.

Materials needed:

  1. Pine cones
  2. Hot glue gun and sticks
  3. Stiff cardboard cut into a circular shape approximately 14″/ 36cm
  4. String
  5. Ribbon to decorate

Normally I arrange pine cones showcasing all their sides, however for a change I decided to feature their bases which remind me of a floral shape. In the past I thought it was necessary to cut the tops off using a sharp blade but this time I just broke them off which is much easier.

I glued two rows of cones onto the circle of cardboard that I had cut from a box I no longer needed. Then I poked some string through the top of the wreath so that I could hang on the hook that is on our front door. I had some saffron coloured ribbon from Michaels which I then made into a bow that I added to to the remaining ribbon. I thought the large brown button made the centre of the bow a little more interesting?!

This is our fourth year doing a “Give Thanks one leaf a day” garland. I wrote about this before and I’m still making leaves from paint/shade cards that are in autumnal colours. They make nice garlands to hang up on following years and it is heartwarming to read all the leaves before dinner on Thanksgiving Day.

This entry was published on November 14, 2016 at 7:42 pm. It’s filed under Fall, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

